Review: The Body Shop’s Chocomania Body Butter!

chocomania-body-butter_m_l[1]With the weather being bipolar in the past few weeks, I was having the worst dry skin on the planet. My skin was flaking, itchy and overall, not attractive. I recently wrote an article about the “Differences of Body Lotion, Butter and Creams”, and I decided I needed to try out a body butter to spot treat my skin’s rough spots. I wanted to try something that was highly recommended by it’s customers and a brand that was natural with a good name in the cosmetics industry. I decided to try the the Body Shop.

The Body Shop describes their stores with this quote:

“We believe there is only one way to beautiful, nature’s way. We’ve believed this for years and still do. We constantly seek out wonderful natural ingredients from all four corners of the globe, and we bring you products bursting with effectiveness to enhance your natural beauty and express your unique personality. And whilst we’re doing this, we always strive to protect this beautiful planet and the people who depend on it. We don’t do it this way because it’s fashionable. We do it because, to us, it’s the only way.”

This quote alone made me very interested in the brand. The company was started by Human’s Rights Activist Dame Anita Roddick in Brighton, England in 1976. They have continued to be involved in many Greenpeace projects, including the famous, Save the Whales campaign. They opened up their first shop in the United States in 1990 and now are a globally recognized brand. They are known for skin care, bath and body products and make up.

I picked up their latest edition to their body butters called the “Chocomania Deluxe Edition”. They state on their labeling that this body butter is for hydrating dry skin up to 48 hours. I have never actually used a product that has ever lived up to this claim, so I was indeed interested to try this product. The smell of this product is absolutely heavenly. It smells like a chocolate chip cookie freshly taken out of the oven. I was extremely happy with the scent.

The consistency is fairly thick and creamy. Most body butters that I have used were only slightly heavier than a water consistency. When I placed and worked it into my skin, it was extremely smooth. I didn’t experience any grease and it worked itself into my skin beautifully. Once worked into the skin, the scent does die down, making it more subtle. As much as I love the scent, I wouldn’t want someone to relapse off their dessert free diet because of my body butter.

The only thing that I didn’t like about this product was that you can’t apply this product in multiple layers. If you try to do this, it sheds ‘lotion peels’ off of your skin. Not what I want my lotion to do if I want to put more on. Given that body butters typically leave a protective barrier on your skin, maybe I was to expect this? Regardless, this wasn’t a huge deal to me.

I’ve been using this product for about three weeks now and I am extremely happy with this purchase. I have used half of the container and it has become my go to lotion, over my Victoria’s Secret lotion, which was a hard thing to out due! I felt like my skin was hydrated at least 24 hours, and I did notice my dry skin wasn’t dry a few days after use. I believe this product does live up to it’s label and statement of being able to ‘hydrate for 48 hours’.

Rating – 9.5/10 – If they fix the lotion peel when this product is rubbed about being dried, it would have a perfect rating!

If you are interested in trying this product out, click here to go to the site:  The Body Shop’s Chocomania Body Butter

One Response to Review: The Body Shop’s Chocomania Body Butter!

  1. SueSoo says:

    Good information in your article but I find your bad grammar very distracting.
    “highly recommended by it’s customers”
    “a hard thing to out due”
    “live up to it’s label”
    If you want to be a blogger, at least learn to write. A reader wants to leave your blog feeling like they learned something, not like they were bombarded with grammatical awkwardness. :’(

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 590 other followers

